Skip navigation

Composition and Design for Better Digital PhotosI recently bought several photography books. One of them was The Photographer’s Eye: Composition and Design for Better Digital Photos by Michael Freeman. I am really enjoying this book.

I had been wanting to read a photography book that isn’t just about the mechanics of photography, with a few composition tips thrown in. I wanted to read a book that would help me think like a photographer. This one fits the bill.

The author of this book does a great job of explaining how to compose photos in interesting ways. He shows several compositions of a particular scene and then shows a diagram of each example that makes it really easy to follow what he is talking about in his chapters.

I am not finding it to be a quick read – but that is what I was looking for. I read a bit of it, study the photos and diagrams that he includes and then spend a lot of time thinking about and practicing what I learned before reading more. It’s just what I was looking for.

Leave a Reply

