Skip navigation

Day 33
Telephones, 2/2/08

I hardly ever see payphones anymore. I found these at the train station. The Union Station in Portland is very cool. It opened on February 14, 1896 and is one of the oldest, continuously-operated railroad passenger stations in the US.

In addition  to taking a photo everyday for this project, I am also processing a photo everyday. I am quite a novice when it comes to Photoshop but I’m picking up a little each day. I used Scott Kelby’s high-contrast black and white technique to convert this photo from the color original. Here is the color version for comparison.

Telephones

12 Comments

  1. Great photo, nice post production editing.

  2. Thanks photo444!

  3. The black and white version of this is gorgeous. The plays on squares and right angles are wonderful. The offset of one woman is a nice touch.

  4. Hi Kira! Thanks – I’m glad you like it. I’m pretty happy with this one.

  5. I agree, the B&W version has more impact. Great work, Barrie! 🙂

  6. Love the Black and White Barrie,
    you’re a True visionary

  7. Definitely looks great in black and white!

  8. I have to add my kudos as well regarding the B&W. Even though you shot this a few days ago, it could easily be a moment from the 1950’s. Nice job.

  9. Thank you Aries, lonettelonelle (love that name!), Kristin and Derryn. I’m really glad you all like this one.

  10. Love this! I like the color, but the b/w really adds contrast and depth. Looks like I’m going to have to give the train station a visit…looks like a beautiful place to shoot!

  11. I love the movement in her bag, very cool!

    • Thanks Brooke – that was luck. She had just turned her body to look at something and I caught the tail end of the movement.


Leave a Reply

