Skip navigation

Day 82 - Carousel
Jantzen Beach Carousel, 3/28/08

When Jantzen Beach Amusement Park opened in 1928, it was the biggest amusement park in the country. Sadly, this carousel is all that is left of it. Even sadder, it is currently housed in a shopping mall. I think that is why the horses appear to be in such anguish!

I love amusement parks. I grew up in Ohio, not far from Cedar Point, so roller coasters are in my blood! We don’t have any good amusement parks in the Pacific Northwest. That’s one of the few faults I can find with living in Oregon.

4 Comments

  1. The vibe reminds me of a Twilight Zone episode. I like how you caught the light on the colored horse, the patterns. Makes me sad to think they’re in a mall.

  2. Jantzen beach was never the largest amusement park but it was called the coney island of the west.

    You took a great picture.

  3. Oaks Amusement Park has been in business in SE Portland since 1905 and is one of the oldest amusement parks in America. I believe the big attraction to the Jantzen Beach park was it’s large swimming pool (of course, this was well before my time, so don’t quote me!) 😉

  4. Thanks Derryn.

    Hi Melissa – I read that online. I guess I don’t know if it’s accurate or not. Thanks for the compliment though.

    Melissa – thanks for reminding me of Oaks park. I haven’t been there in many years. It would be a fun plce to take photos.


Leave a Reply

