Skip navigation

Summer Fun!
Summer Fun, 6/22/08

This morning it was dreary and raining – a perfect day for a little reading. I read the chapter on panning in Bryan Peterson’s new book, Understanding Shutter Speed. Later though, it turned out to be a beautiful day so I headed for the Rose Garden. The roses are in full bloom and just gorgeous right now.

This young brother and sister were having a great time riding their bikes around the fountain I decided to take the opportunity to try my hand at panning. Unfortunately, just as I was starting to get the hang of it, they took a spill and that was the end of all of our fun. Thankfully, they were both fine.

This was the last photo I took before they fell and the best of the bunch. It’s a little crooked and I wish I would have gotten the whole bike in the shot, but for my first time trying this technique, I’m pleased with the results.

6 Comments

  1. I knew you could do it! Great shot!

  2. Funny, because I just bought Understanding Shutter Speed and was also experimenting with panning this weekend. My results weren’t as good as your, though! Terrific shot!

  3. Well done. Panning is hard as heck to pull off, and I never seem to make it work.

    This image is great on a number of levels, the panning give the sense of motion, but the subjects sell this one. The smile on the girls face is one pure joy.

  4. this is GOOD!

  5. Thanks! I’m looking forward to trying this again. It was fun.

  6. I have no idea what ‘panning’ actually means and no clue as to how to take a shot like this, but this picture makes me feel so good. Motion, colors, happy kids… Noice!


Leave a Reply

