Skip navigation

Portland Cityscape
Portland Cityscape, 2/7/09

This is another photo from my class field trip. I’ve tried to get a good shot of this scene numerous times over the years, but it never came out the way I saw it. This time I feel like I nailed it. I don’t mean that it’s a perfect shot, but that I was able to make the camera see what I saw. That was pretty satisfying! I’m quite happy with this photo. Oh, this is the Portland skyline from the east bank of the Willamette River.

5 Comments

  1. Excellent, Barrie! Won’t be long before those trees almost completely mask the skyline. They are kind of creepy looking. Have you ever tried this shot just after sunset?

  2. I have, and it was terrible. I’d like to try it again though, now that I feel more confident. That spot is a favorite for the nightime skyline shot of Portland.

  3. There’s a lot to see in this photo. I like the way the bare willows frame the city. You did a good job of selecting just what you wanted to say through this image.

    • Thank you morningjoy!

  4. Very nice shot of Portland (also my city), I love the colors and composition. I think I will live vicariously through your blog. I also took a class last year and went to Europe. Keep up the good work!


Leave a Reply

