Skip navigation

Old Truck
Old Truck, 1/24/09

Tomorrow is the my last photography class. It’s been good but I’m kind of glad it’s over. Now I am anxious to put my new skills to the test. I’m looking forward to taking the kind of photos I like to take, rather than having to focus on a weekly assignment.

On March 10 there will be an exhibit of photos taken by the students during the course of the class. We have to choose a minimum of three photos to show. They must be enlarged to at least 11×14, matted and framed. I am considering this old truck as one of my three.

The exhibit is open to anyone who wants to attend. If you’re interested in checking out the work of some up and coming local photographers, please feel free to pop in anytime between 7:45pm and 9:30pm at 813 SW Morrison (downstairs) – that’s in Portland.

8 Comments

  1. I wish you luck with your first show. And the picture you are displaying here is awesome. I do like old cars and trucks and this truck is well presented, and has an interesting crop.

  2. Hi Barrie! Love both the monochrome and color version of the car, but I prefer the monochrome version better. I feel that the form of the car gets more attention, especially the grills. I find the white of the sky drawing my eye away from the details of the car, so maybe you can crop the top a little, or recover some of the highlights from the sky. Just a thought.

    Cheers!

    • Thanks Top! I’ll see what I can do about the sky. I really like the faint hill in the background as a balance to the truck being weighted on the right, but it is a lot harder to see in the monochrome version. I’ll see if I can fix that. I always appreciate your feedback.

  3. How much manipulating are you allowed to do? On the color image, you might want to desaturate the background, but leave the old truck in color and boost the contrast just a bit. Otherwise I’d go with the sepia version.

    • For this show, we can do anything we want to the photos – be as creative as we like. Thanks for the ideas – I’ll have to play around and see what I end up with.

  4. Hi Kiddo! Love the truck pic just as it is. You have a great eye and you know that I hate you. LOL

    Have fun with the exhibit. Wish I were close enough to come by.

    • Thanks John – you’re the best!


Leave a Reply

